To most visitors and many locals, the capital of Mexico is Mexico City (Ciudad de Mexico in Spanish).

Mexico City.

Mexico City. Image by Kasper Christensen / CC BY 2.0

Officially, however, the capital is called the Distrito Federal (Federal District), or at least that’s been the name until now. The country’s chamber of deputies has decided to give the capital statehood and the new state will have the official name of, yes, Ciudad de Mexico aka Mexico City. One of the deputies called the change “historic”. Many locals just shrugged. Read more: